Statement of Intent

Laich-Kwil-Tach K'omoks Tlowitsis Council of Chiefs

1. What is the First Nation Called?

Laich-Kwil-Tach K'omoks Tlowitsis Council of Chiefs

2. How is the First Nation established?

Traditional Law

Please Describe:

Council of Chiefs include Hereditary and elected Chiefs

Is there an attachment?

No

3. Who are the aboriginal people represented by the First Nation?

The Laich-Kwil-Tach K'omoks Tlowitsis Council of Chiefs (aka Kwakiutl Laich-Kwil-Tach Council of Chiefs) represents the following five First Nations: Campbell River (Wei Wai Kum Nation), Cape Mudge (We Wai Kai Nation), Kwiakah, Tlowitsis, and K'omoks.

4. How many aboriginal people are represented by the First Nation?

Approximately 2,022

Is there any other First Nation that claims to represent the aboriginal people described in questions 3 and 4? If so, please list.

No

5. **Please list any First Nations with whom the First Nation may have overlapping or shared territory.**

Namgis Nation, Tanakteuk Nation, Sliammon Nation, Klahoose Nation, Qualicum Nation, Nanoose Nation, Snuneymuxw (Nanaimo) Nation, Homalo and Mamalilikulla-Que-Qwa-Sot'em. The Council of Chiefs has concluded a boundary agreement with the Mowachaht Nation and the Muchalaht Nation on July 11, 1998.

6. What is the First Nation's traditional territory in BC?

The boundary commences from Lewis Point on Vancouver Island, northeast and north of Hanson Island including all of Hanson Island to northern shore of Parson Bay on Habledown Island, the boundary bisects Harbledown Island and north to include all of Turnour Island from the eastern end of Turnour Island the boundary is north of Minstrel Island and along the center of Knight Inlet to Duncan Bight east of Glendale Cove, then northerly on height of land between Knight Inlet and Loughborough Inlet then north to the eastern side of the KlinakKlina Canvon crossing over to the west side at Dorothy Creek. The boundary then heads north to Tweedsmuir Park, from there the boundary goes east around Wilderness Mountain to One Eve Lake South to Little Sapeye Lake then on a easterly direction to Mount Skinner then south over Potatoe Range. The boundary then goes east on height of land then south to the mouth of Toba River. The boundary then goes south along the the center of Toba Inlet along Calm Channel then through Sutil Channel. The boundary divides Georgia Strait east of Hornby and Denman Islands striking Vancouver Island at the center of Craig Bay, south of the village of Parksville, then continues westerly along the height of land forming the southern boundary of the Englisman River watershed to the height of land separting the western flowing watersheds from the eastern flowing watershed of Vancouver Island, then continues north westerly along the height of land separating western Vancouver Island from eastern Vancouver Island along the Sutton and Hankin Ranges east of the Nimpkish River watershed following the height of land through Mount Hodsworth to a point on the east shore of Vancouver Island at Lewis Point.

The traditional territory includes the islands of Quadra, Hornby, Denman, Read, Maurelle, Sonora, Stuart, East Thurlow, West Thurlow, Hardwicke, East Cracroft, West Cracroft, Turnour, Harbledown, Minstrel, Hanson, Plumper Group, Swanson, Crease, Viscount and parts of Gilford.

The area includes part of Knight Inlet, all of Call Inlet, Loughborough Inlet and the West half of Bear Inlet, the Homothko River, Southgate River, the Toba River and the west portion of Toba Inlet. On Vancouver Island, the areas includes the watersheds of the Big Quinsam, Oyster, Quinsam, Campbell, Salmon, Memkay, White, Adam, Eve, Tsitika, Kokish, and Tsulton Rivers. It also includes numerous Creeks with their own small watersheds.

Attach a map or other document, if available or describe.

Map Available?

Yes

7. Is the First Nation mandated by its constituents to submit a Statement of Intent to negotiate a treaty with Canada and British Columbia under the treaty process?

Yes

How did you receive your Mandate? (Please provide documentation) As per original

8.	Contact Person: Official Title: Phone Numbers:	Rob Naknakim Senior Analyst
	Main:	250 287 9460
	Others:	604-287-9469 Fax
	Submitted by:	Chiefs of the Laich-Kwil-Tach K'omoks Tlowitsis Council of Chiefs (Hamatla Treaty Society)
	Title:	
	Date:	12/15/93, Amended 2/21/97, Amended 3/28/2000, Amended 08/17/01