Treaty Anniversary Week


Treaty Anniversary Week

This week, we celebrate the anniversaries for modern treaties completed in the BC treaty negotiations process.*  These are:


Tsawwassen First Nation (effective April 3, 2009)

Huu-ay-aht First Nations (effective April 1, 2011)

Ka:’yu:’k’t’h’/Che:k’tles7et’h’ First Nations (effective April 1, 2011)

Toquaht Nation (effective April 1, 2011)

Uchucklesaht Tribe Government (effective April 1, 2011)

Yuułu?ił?ath Government (effective April 1, 2011)

Tla’amin Nation (effective April 5, 2016)


In the years since the Treaties came into effect, these Nations continue to affirm their right to self-determination and self-government, undergo significant economic transformation, develop and implement legislation specific to their governance structure, and engage in a renewed government-to-government relationship with their treaty partners — the Governments of BC and Canada. The Modern Treaty Nations and their partners, Canada and British Columbia, are also transforming local economies and communities as the treaties are being implemented.

* The Nisga’a Final Agreement was negotiated prior to the establishment of the BC Treaty Commission. It took effect on May 11, 2000.